Class is Now in Session

Presenting The Data School, an educational video series for people who work with data

Learn More

Boards and Investors

Board of Directors, Advisors and Investors

Board of Directors

Adam Wilson
Adam Wilson


Adam Wilson is CEO of Trifacta and has over twenty years of experience in leadership roles focused on data integration and analytics. Under his leadership, Trifacta has become the global leader in data wrangling, serving thousands of companies worldwide. Prior to Trifacta, Adam was GM of Informatica’s ILM division where he grew revenues more than 400% in five years. Prior to that, Adam served as SVP of Product Management & Marketing for Informatica’s flagship data integration products, helping the company expand beyond ETL and grow product revenues to more than $800M.

Joe Hellerstein
Joe Hellerstein

Co-Founder & CSO

Joe is Trifacta’s Chief Strategy Officer, Co-founder and Jim Gray Chair of Computer Science at UC Berkeley. His career in research and industry has focused on data-centric systems and the way they drive computing. In 2010, Fortune Magazine included him in their list of 50 smartest people in technology, and MIT Technology Review magazine included his Bloom language for cloud computing on their TR10 list of the 10 technologies “most likely to change our world”.

Sean Kandel
Sean Kandel

Co-Founder & CTO

Sean is Trifacta’s Chief Technical Officer and Co-founder. He completed his Ph.D. at Stanford University, where his research focused on user interfaces for database systems. At Stanford, Sean led development of new tools for data transformation and discovery, such as Data Wrangler. He previously worked as a data analyst at Citadel Investment Group.

Joseph Ansanelli
Joseph Ansanelli

Co-Founder & CEO, Gladly Software

Joseph is a Co-Founder and CEO of Gladly Software, Inc. In addition to his role at Gladly, Joseph is a partner at Greylock Partners focusing on investing in enterprise applications, security and storage as well as emerging mobile applications. Earlier in his career, Joseph was an entrepreneur and he co-founded and served as CEO at several companies, including Vontu, which was acquired by Symantec in 2007 for 350 million. Joseph is currently on the Boards of Lookout and Sumo Logic.

Ping Li
Ping Li

General Partner, Accel

Ping Li joined Accel in 2004 and focuses on enterprise software application and cloud platform investments. He is the lead investor and board member at Blue Jeans,,, Sumo Logic, Sysdig, and Trifacta. Ping is also active in cybersecurity as an investor at Code42, Illumio, Lookout Mobile Security, and Tenable Network Security (NASDAQ). He was responsible for numerous past investments with notable exits, including Arista (NASDAQ), Cloudera (NYSE), Demisto (acquired by Palo Alto Networks), Heptio (acquired by VMware), Nimble Storage (NYSE), RelateIQ (acquired by Salesforce), and Semmle (acquired by MSFT/GitHub).

Nick Sturiale
Nick Sturiale

Managing Partner, Ignition

Nick Sturiale joined Ignition in 2013 as managing partner. The last 20 years, Nick has been directly involved in over 100 startups, held more than 25 board seats and invested across multiple platform generations. Prior to Ignition, Nick spent three years at Icon Ventures, where he invested in companies such as VuClip (PCCW),, and Nick also spent more than eight years at Sevin Rosen Funds, where he incubated and led first investments in XenSource (CTXS) and Splunk (SPLK). Nick is a board member at Acalvio, Archipelago Analytics, Aviatrix, Jupiter Intelligence, Nymi and Tractable.

Denis Barrier
Denis Barrier

Co-founder & CEO, Cathay Innovation

Denis is co-founder and CEO of He is also a Managing Partner of Cathay Capital Private Equity.
Prior to Cathay, he was at Iris Capital where he managed the international activities of the Orange/Publicis fund. He has also been the Head of Corporate Venture at Orange Telecom, and a Managing Director at Innovacom.

Denis has a deep technical background and started as a Researcher in the laboratories of Orange Telecom, working mainly on semiconductor quantum dots. He holds a Ph.D. in solid state Physics, is a graduate of Ecole Normale Supérieure, and is an engineer of Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications.

Board of Advisors

Tim O'Reilly

Founder & Ceo, O'Reilly Media, Inc.

Jay Simons

President, Atlassian

Dave McJannet

Chief Executive Officer, HashiCorp

DJ Patil

Former U.S. Chief Data Scientist, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Craig Villamor

Design Director, Google

Dave Smoley

Vice President, Apple

Scott Aronson

SVP Worldwide Field Operations, Cloudera

Jeff Hammerbacher

Founder and Former Chief Scientist, Cloudera

Earl Fry

Former CFO, Chief Administration Officer and EVP Customer Support and Services, Informatica

Rajiv Synghal

Chief Scientist Big Data, Kaiser Permanente

Tye Rattenbury

Research Science Manager, Lyft

Pete Skomoroch

Entrepreneur and Former Principal Data Scientist, LinkedIn

Jo Deal

Chief Human Resources Officer, LogMeIn

Carlos Guestrin

Senior Director of AI & Machine Learning, Apple

Mike Bostock

Graphics Editor, The New York Times and Creator of D3.js

Maneesh Agrawala

Professor, Stanford University

Michael Bernstein

Professor, Stanford University

Sam Madden

Professor, MIT